PEKAN: The detentions of several individuals under the Emergency Ordinance are carried out to prevent any untoward incidence and for peace and public order to be maintained, Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak said.
 This is a preventive measure, prevention is better than cure, the told reporters after opening the Pekan Umno division delegates meeting yesterday.

 more serious from taking place.

br />
The Prime Minister was commenting on why the police used the Emergency (Public Order and Prevention of Crime) Ordinance 1969 against six people who were suspected of being involved in foreign and subversive elements.

Among the detainees was Sungai Siput MP Dr Michael Jeyakumar Devaraj.

Najib said he was confident that the police understood all implications when taking such an action against the supporters of Bersih 2.0.

 demonstration like this, the said.

&Some people want to take part because they are agitators and there are others who join in because they like unruly and wild situations which rouse them, the added. < br /> < br /> In Kuala Lumpur, Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin said Pakatan Rakyat had no respect for the mandate of the majority.

 (the Opposition) plan to use street democracy as a means to wrest power, the said when opening the Federal Territory Barisan Nasional Convention yesterday.

In Klang, MCA president Datuk Seri Dr Chua Soi Lek said the Opposition should remember that it won big, including five states, using the so-called &tainted electoral roll in the last general election.
<br (Pakatan Rakyat) realised that they cannot keep up with their anti-government sentiments, so they are having this Bersih rally, the told reporters after opening the Selangor MCA Convention yesterday.
cbr />Dr Chua said the Pakatan-led Selangor government had a catalogue of unfulfilled election promises such as bringing back local government elections and giving NGOs a 25% quota of local councillor positions.

 we want them to say change' from Pakatan Rakyat to Barisan Nasional. @
br />
Among those present at the convention were deputy president Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai, vice-presidents Datuk Donald Lim, Datuk Chor Chee Heung, Datuk Seri Dr Ng Yen Yen and Gan Ping Sieu, and Youth chief Datuk Dr Wee Ka Siong.